Continuity Errorist should be a real job!

I’ve made a joke for a long time that apart from Writing and being paid for it, my perfect job would be as a ‘Continuity Errorist’ for films and TV shows. I always manage to spot the continuity errors in TV shows, even if the thing it’s relating to happened three seasons ago.

Some are little things, relatively harmless, but some wind me up so much because they would have been completely avoidable if the Writers had just taken a minute to think about it.

I went to see The Hobbit last night and while I was expecting to love it, I came out feeling incredibly disappointed. I adored the LOTR films when they came out. The scope of the world Tolkien created was wonderful, and I felt they kept to the books in a way that worked for a film. Yes, things were cut, but when they were, the information given was portrayed a different way. So, I admit, I went into The Hobbit with high expectations that I would come out raving about this movie for weeks.

I think I got about 10-15 minutes in before I wanted to smack my head against something through continuity errors that the film makers created but didn’t exist in the books.

There were a lot of  things that really annoyed me, like the fact they added this whole second plot that didn’t exist in the books, a plot that was layered on top of the other scenes so that the entire film was action based. Unfortunately, this actually did the opposite of what it was supposed to for me, and instead of making the film really exciting because it was all action action action, it actually made it incredibly dull. With no down points to the plot to accent the action, the whole thing felt a little flat.

This is something I’m struggling with in writing, finding the balance between when to have those down times, and when to pile on the action. I think I need another action section in my novel, and luckily, where I’m going to add it, it won’t create a continuity error the size of Middle Earth.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

