Taking Resolutions Lit-erally

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.”

― T.S. Eliot

Like everyone, with the start of the new year, I make the genuine claims that I will try to be better. Of course, like many, this is a trial that I will fail, sometimes at the first hurdle. Resolution to join a gym, constantly put it off until actually, it’s no longer a New Year’s resolution, but just a chore that will be pushed back as far as necessary.

As the world didn’t end (Thank you Mayans) and I know my habit of failing Resolutions, I decided that this year, instead of making promises to do things that make me groan in annoyance (giving up things, etc,) I would make promises that I am excited by, that I want to complete.

Admittedly, most of these resolutions are focused on writing, which, seeing as this is mostly what this blog is about, I thought I’d share here. Hopefully, if more people know about them, I can’t get away with not doing it.

1. Write 5,000 words per week minimum.
As I’m awful at keeping to a daily word count, I figured a weekly one would lessen my guilt. This way, if I’m having an off day, I don’t need to feel guilty about it, I can make it up with a couple really good days later in the week.

2. Finish first draft of Dead & Buryd.
This one I would like to complete by January 31st. Yes, I know I’m going to have a horrendous amount of edits, but at least I’ll have it all down.

3. Edit Edit Edit
Do at least two chapters editing of my own work per week. So, even before I send to someone else to read, I’ll have gone through and edited. Then, when they send back, I’ll do an edit again. Rinse and repeat until the chapters are as perfect as I can make them.

4. Planning
Plan the rest of the books in the Interitus novel series. Hoping to start the second book by June.

5. Research and Prep
Get all my research on the 5 Agents I want to send D&B to done by 1st February.
Have all cover letters and Agent specific additional requirements done and ready to send by 28th February.

And that’s it, those are my resolutions this year, for writing at least. There are a couple more, but apart from cross stitching and knitting, it’s all pretty boring.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

