Edits, round one!

I finally have a finished first draft and I must say I feel pretty damn good about it. You hear about people spending years trying to finish a manuscript, and this one has taken me just under three months. There are up and down sides to that, I know that a manuscript that took years will probably be much more polished than this one is. However, knowing that the story flowed so easily gives me hope, as it proves for me that this is a story I am really passionate about telling.

Now, of course, I’m into editing, which is an interesting process. Being slightly OCD about these things, I’ve killed a tree and printed the whole thing out (I find it easier to edit on paper than on the laptop) and I’ve made a key with highlighters that I’ve taped to the inside of my folder.
Orange – Spelling and Grammar. Yellow – Rewording. Pink – Adding in content. Blue – Deleting content. There is also a Pink with symbols for adding in a large section.

I’m feeling rather organised, which I’m hoping is a good thing. I’ve already been through the prologue and the first three chapters. Unfortunately, those are the ones that had already had a round of edits done by a friend, so it’s about to get much more difficult as I move on to chapter four. I’ve also reached the part where I no longer have chapter titles, so deciding on those is going to be interesting if I don’t end up pulling out my hair.

All in all, feeling good about it. I’ve sent copies to a couple of friends who are giving it a beta read. I’ve told them not to worry about the more minor editing, for the moment, I just want to know if the story makes sense, reads well, and doesn’t have any massive plot edits.

Well, I can hope, can’t I?

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

