Submissions and Scrivening

I completed my first two 3 chapter submissions at the beginning of the week. One an electronic submission, the other a paper copy that was dropped into a big red post box on Monday afternoon.

There is something incredibly final about slotting a big brown envelope into a postbox, and I almost understand why they use this in films and TV shows, because I really did feel that rush of excitement at having done it, but also the complete and utter dread that came along with it. Just like the ‘send’ button on the electronic submission, there is no going back once that envelope is in the postbox unless you plan on committing a crime to get it out of there.

So, since then I have been feeling the constant anxiety over the responses. My email has been checked with feverish excitement and horror, even though I know the likelihood of receiving a response within a fortnight is slim to none.

To try to curb my anxiety, I have been properly setting up my Scrivener and editing the manuscript. I’ve taken to carrying a John Lewis tote bag everywhere with me that contains a folder with a full hard copy of the manuscript and a selection of highlighters and pens. If I don’t get an Agent, I may still get a back problem as a consolation prize.

I’d already set up Scrivener at the beginning of the year. My dad paid for a copy for my for Christmas, and while it had been set up on my netbook, which I use for traveling as my laptop is too big, I found out that I could use my registration number for Scrivener for a second copy for my laptop, so it’s not been downloaded and registered on this too. Exciting!

Admittedly, so far, the manuscript is still in Microsoft Word, with multiple copies floating around various computers I use, but I’m playing with the smaller bits, like the character sheets. The only problem I’m finding so far is that most of my characters fit into at least two groups. I started organising them by race and tribe, but then realised that many of the characters also belonged to the rebel group in the novel, as well as originally being from a tribe. – I can see myself having five different organisation methods of the same list.

Well, at least Scrivener will keep it neat, even if I am hoarding information like never before.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

