‘Dead and Buryd’ to be self-published late October.

Dead and Buryd, the first novel in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy series ‘Out of Orbit’, will be self-published in late October.

On a volatile colonised planet, a medic, Georgianna, is drawn into helping a friend to free the woman he loves from slavery. As the day of the escape draws near, Georgianna comes to realise that in freeing this one slave, she may have set in motion the opportunity to free her race from servitude. What she doesn’t realise, however, is that her own freedom may be the forfeit.

I’ve been considering this decision for a while, and I finally stopped going back and forth on it, jumping into the deep end. So, this evening, I made a request for a commission on a cover from a very talented artist, and I am now making this announcement.

Following my experience at the London Book Fair, I’ve been given a lot to think about, and I came to the conclusion that the best thing for my writing is to release it myself. By doing this, I am keeping my vision for this series completely my own, allowing me the creative freedom to truly carve this path for myself.

It will be difficult, and I am sure that over the next six months I will look back on today and wonder what the hell I was thinking. There is copy editing to think of,  formatting, cover, marketing, not to mention writing the rest of the series.

Despite the amount of work I know now lies before me, I am filled, not with nerves, but with excitement. We no longer live in a time when there is only one path to my dream of having my book out there for others to read. We live in a day and age where we can travel the path best suited for us, and even with the days of hair pulling and panic attacks, I am confident that this is the right path for me.

So, keep some space available on your eReader. You’ll need it in October.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Dead and Buryd’ to be self-published late October.

  1. Congratulation! I’m a selfpublished author and I know you are going to be happy you made the choice. Yes there is a lot a head of you but you’ll be glad you did it. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

