Self Publishing Journey from a First Time Author

As you can imagine, it is a long journey to having a self published novel. For authors on their second, fifth, nineteenth self published book, this must become like a check list of things to tick off. Cover, editing, release date, marketing. However, when it’s your first time, these things that professionals make look relatively easy can be an ocean of choices and decisions.

As a first time author myself, I’ve decided to chronicle my journey in self publishing in the hopes that my experiences may help the next person. I’ll be getting advice and feedback from professionals and successful self published authors, and basically finding the way to make my journey to self publishing the best it can be.

I will be covering the following topics:

POD publishing start to finish
eBook publishing start to finish
Selecting an editor and how professional edits work
Commissioning a cover design
Marketing
Beta Reading
Self-Publishing Communities.

If you are a first time author yourself, and would like to take part in giving your own experience, questions, taking part in guest posts, or you are an experienced self published author or professional related to publishing and would like to give advice, please contact me. I am available through facebook, twitter, or my ‘Contact Me’ page.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Self-Publishing Journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Self Publishing Journey from a First Time Author

  1. What a great idea to share information! I am just beginning this same adventure and will be glad to share as I learn. 🙂

  2. K. Virginia says:

    thank you, Chele! i wish you the best of luck on your journey, and i look forward to hearing about your success (and your struggles, but only for informational purposes, there). keep writing!

  3. Jenny Hagan says:

    I’ve always known that when I do FINALLY finish my novel, I’ll be self publishing. It’ll be great to read your experiences! *is excited*

    • chelecooke says:

      Thanks Jenny!
      Let me know if you if you have any questions you’d like answering, whether I have the answer or I root around until I find someone with more experience.
      Chele

Leave a Reply

