Plot Bunnies

Plot bunnies constantly run rampant in my head. Unfortunately, these aren’t always for the story I happen to be writing. I am sure a lot of writers get this, where you’re working on one story, it’s going really well, and suddenly you have another idea for a whole different world pop into your head.

Generally, I write these down, make as many notes as I can in the hopes that the bunny will lay dormant for a while until I am ready to work on it. The problem is, once I write it down and that idea has settled into a relaxed ‘well at least you know about me’ phase, another pipes up with ‘ooo, my turn, my turn, my turn!’

ImageThis image is a pretty accurate representation of one of these plot bunnies, because not only do they have the habit of multiplying like, well, bunnies, they are also the greediest buggers on the planet. An idea may start as one element, but soon they’re piling in more and more until even you’re looking at it in surprised shock.

“Are you sure you don’t wanna slow down?”
“Nah man, I can fit it all in, no problem!”
“Are you sure? It looks like you’ve got enough.”
*cough, splutter* “Nope, I’m good, I’m good. Bring on more. I can fit more.”

This is where I am at the moment with two series. I have Out of Orbit, which is going great, but I do also have another, Cirque Navire, which is sitting in the background, constantly piling ideas, plots, and characters into my head.

At some point, I might explode… but I’m hoping that I at least get through Out of Orbit before that happens.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

