Sequels, all over again

After a rather long break, where I decided that it was best for me to focus completely on Dead and Buryd, I have finally returned to writing the sequel.

While I was incredibly excited and enthusiastic to write the sequel months ago, I was finding it difficult to focus on both books. Dead and Buryd had a lot going on, from editing, to organising a elements for being published. Now that these have all calmed down, I feel like I can give the sequel the attention it deserves.

I’ve been back writing it for four days now, and it is going quite slowly, not because I’m not enjoying it, but because this is the first time I’ve written a sequel and I’m trying to find the right level of ‘previous information’.

It was one of those elements that has always annoyed me in novels. I’m really good at remembering what happened in previous books, so having those reminders of relatively simple elements ot the story really bugs me. However, saying this, I also understand how important they are. Whether someone has taken a long time between reading a book and the sequel, or they never read the original at all, each book needs to be able to stand on its own, so the information has to be there. I’m having to balance what is important for the new book because it relates to the story, and what can be left out. It’s a new and interesting experience for me.

So, I’m trying to find that level between ‘Previously on Out of Orbit’ and the new story.

At 20,000 words so far, I think it’s going pretty well. I’m liking where the story is going, and the characters are as much fun to write as they were for the first.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sequels, all over again

  1. Nicola Maltby says:

    I think you need someone to proof read those 20,000 words for you x

Leave a Reply

