30 DBC: Day 1

I’m going to tag these 30 DBC, because typing 30 day book challenge every time I want to post anything is going to be annoying.

But Chele, you’re a writer, surely typing shouldn’t be a problem?

Yes, but I’m also lazy, and 30 DBC looks nicer in a tag.

Anyway, without further ado,

Day 01 – Best book you read last year

This actually took me ages to think about, not because I didn’t read some amazing books last year, but because I couldn’t think of a book that I read last year for the first time. There are some books *cough*Harry Potter*cough* that I’ll read over and over, so I can’t always remember what I read when.

Funnily enough, it was only when I was considering putting Game of Thrones, the first book of the Song of Ice and Fire series by G.R.R Martin, even  though I haven’t finished it, that I remembered…

Image

I’ve been a fan of Gregory Maguire for a long time. I read Tales of an Ugly Stepsister years ago, and I loved Wicked so much that I can no longer watch the Wizard of Oz without scoffing at half the characters. However, I find that I have to be a certain frame of mind to read him, and having not been in that frame of mind for a while (not to mention also reading his non-Oz books, I only read Son of a Witch last year.

My love of Son of a Witch is deeply rooted in my love of Wicked. There are a number of the same characters, and even in the new ones, I can see elements of the old and now gone. Also, it’s very much connected to my love of the musical adaptation. Wicked the musical has very little to do with the actual plot of the book, and yet it takes the essence of the book, the important messages and uses them perfectly within a new theatre friendly plot. Son of a Witch can be seen in Wicked as well, which makes me love them both even more.

Now I just need to get that frame of mind back to read the rest of them.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment