30 DBC: Day 3

Today is a really busy day at work, all the students at the residence I work in are moving out, new ones moving in for the summer, so it’s a day of checking rooms are clean, and basically working like a hotel reception. (Luckily, I have also worked in hotel reception with a much higher and faster turn around, so things aren’t too bad.)

However, having a break, I thought I’d do my book challenge entry for today.

Day 03 – Your favorite series

harrypotter

Yes, I am a Potterhead, or whatever the fanbase is meant to be named (did you know that fans of Aaron Tveit, who played Enjoras in the Les Miserables movie call themselves Tveitertots? I think it’s hilarious. The things you learn on Tumblr.)

Anyway, yes, my favourite series of books is the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. There are quite a few reasons I love this series, including the plots, the characters, and the settings, but my main reason that this series holds such an important place for me is that it was these books that really got me into writing.

I was living in San Francisco when I first got into the HP books, and at the time I was suffering from depression. I was missing my friends and family back in England, I didn’t feel like I fitted in in my school in the states, so the friends I met talking about these books became my lifeline.

I remember so much about the way I found this series too. My mum asked me if I wanted them, and at the time I said no. Then, boxing day, back in England for the Christmas holidays, my dad was listening to Philosopher’s Stone being read over the radio. Stephen Fry was reading it (I believe he does all the HP audiobooks) and they played it for 8 straight hours. I wasn’t really that interested at first, I was playing on the computer and stuff, but after a couple hours I was hooked. And that, as they say, was that. At the time to go to a family friend’s house for dinner, I remember asking my dad to go to the car and turn the radio on so that I could run from the house to the car and miss as little as possible.

I’ve been told by some people who read my writing that you can really see where JK Rowling’s writing has had an effect on me, and it’s not surprising. I spent most of my teenage years absorbed in these books, I joined forums and debated theories on plots and characters, I wrote fan fiction in the Harry Potter universe, I roleplayed it in play-by-post forum RPs. I spent a decade immersed in these books.

I was writing before that, I’d always enjoyed it, but immersing myself in these books fueled my love of stories, and made me realise that writing was what I wanted to do with my life. In the end, I think, no matter the things I read the rest of my life, this series will always be there for me. It’s the one that inspired me, the one that changed me.

The one that made me into a writer.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

