30 DBC: Day 6

Day 06 – A book that makes you sad

Finally! An easy challenge day! Not that there aren’t a lot of books that make me sad, or the other days aren’t real answers, but I saw today’s challenge and immediately thought… Yes, I know which book I’m choosing there!

9780340835463

I adore this book. I’ve read it three times, and each time I find something else that I love about it. I love that the situation can be seen from every angle, that there is no ‘bad guy’ but simply other perspectives on a very difficult and painful situation. I love the complexity of the plots, the hidden pains and joys of people we assume are minor characters, but turn into being pivotal roles.

The reason I chose this as the book that makes me sad is not because I don’t like it, or that it’s an incredibly depressing book. It is depressing at points, but it’s also uplifting. The reason I chose this as the book that makes me sad is because this book made my cry so much that I had to go to the doctors for a suspected allergic reaction. I had to put drops in my eyes for a week, my eyes were so puffed up and swollen.

I am a sap, ask anyone close to me. I will cry at an episode of Friends if it’s particularly emotional, but this book took that to a new level. I can’t put it down (even when reading it for the second and third time) yet I have so many tears streaming down my face that I can hardly see the words on the page.

The film, on the other hand, is a completely different story. I hate it, but that’s a matter for a different blog post.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

