30 DBC: Day 7

Day 07 – Most underrated book

Can I skip this one and do another book that makes me happy?

Hmmm… I guess this is the problem with 1: doing this challenge from work, and 2: having my books spread over two houses 100 miles apart. I want to sit in front of my bookshelf and stare until I find a book that fits the category of the day. Instead, I’m thinking of the first one that comes to me.

Alright! Twenty-five minutes later, and I’ve thought of one. Only, it isn’t a book in itself. It’s a short story.

Lottery

Personally, I think short stories are underrated a large portion of the time. I have been told numerous times that getting a collection of short stories published is more difficult than a novel. Perhaps it is the inescapable tautology. Less people read short stories because they aren’t as available – it’s difficult to publish short stories because nobody reads them.

In the eyes of the traditional publishing, anyway.

Sorry, back to Shirley Jackson. The Lottery is my favourite short story. I spent an entire year studying short stories for my degree, I have written numerous short stories myself, and have read so many I lost count… but The Lottery has remained my favourite since I first read it at age 15.

Despite being classed as one of the ‘great American short stories’ it always amazes me how few people have read it. Whenever people talk to me about a certain book (which I will not name here because it gives away the point of the story,) I always ask whether they’ve read The Lottery. The answer is most often no, which saddens me. It’s a wonderful, beautifully written work, and for me, is a perfect short story.

I managed to find a copy online, so anyone who hasn’t read it can now do so.

… and can try to guess which book I was referring to.

The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

 

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

