30 DBC: Day 8

Day 08 – Most overrated book

This is a very easy one for me today.

50-shades-of-grey-cover_300x400

In fact, I feel dirty even having this picture on my site. I’ve been wrestling with having a ‘non-image day’.

This book, the whole series, is the most overrated nonsense I’ve seen. I’m not going to go into some big rant about it, even though I could, (very easily, I’ll add,) but I’ll say a few things as to why I feel this is overrated.

The writing is mediocre at best, downright ridiculous at times. I don’t often insult other writers past saying “I didn’t like their work,” and E.L James deserves some kind of award for selling this drivel as well as she did, but the writing is atrocious, uninspired, and often just plain wrong. There are accuracy issues throughout the book, both in the portrayal of a BDSM relationship, to the locations she uses.

I am also always wary of fanfiction where the names have been changed, a key detail gotten rid of (in this case vampires exchanged for BDSM,) and sold as a new fiction, which everyone knows 50 Shades is.

I’m going to stop before I go into full on rant (it just happens, I can’t stop it when it comes to books like this,) and simply say: There are millions of more original books, more realistic books, BETTER books out there. The hype over 50 Shades was a fluke, and thoroughly undeserved.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 DBC: Day 8

  1. Erica Dakin says:

    I thoroughly agree with you. One day I do plan to have a rant about this series on my blog though…

Leave a Reply

