30 DBC: Day 10

Day 10 – Favorite classic book

great-gatsby-traditional-edition

The Great Gatsby is another of those books that I read in high school and had to rip apart. Luckily for me, I enjoyed this book quite a lot even during English classes, so it wasn’t much for me to pick it up again years later.

Nick Carraway is one of my favourite characters in literature. I find him really interesting, especially seeing as he’s more of a bystander within the story than anything else. He is tangled into his plot through his connection to others, he is, generally, not the person who pushes the story forward.

Nick Carraway is actually one of my influences when it comes to Dead and Buryd. My main character, Georgianna, is very much in Nick’s position. She’s very close to the action, she is tangled in it to a point she can’t walk away, but she is actually not the person the action revolves around a lot of the time. She’s not the classic hero who goes in to save the day.

I think this perspective is an incredibly interesting one, especially when you look at the number of books that are written from the perspective of someone who is, in some way special, or who have the fate of their world resting on their shoulders. I like the outsider, the one who is dragged into a problem but have no special way to solve it.

So, yes, The Great Gatsby is my favourite classic book, and a big influence in my writing.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

