eReader Revolution

kobo

Yes, it took a while, but today I finally bought an eReader. It’s been something I’ve been considering for a long time, and even though I really like physical books, I knew that, at some point, I would really need a digital device.

I’ve started reviewing books for others, receiving pre-releases from other authors so that I can take part in their blog-tours, or simply help them out by giving them a review on amazon/goodreads/etc. Of course, I benefit too, because I get a wonderful free book out of it.

The problem with this became that, as most people can’t afford to send a print book to a dozen people, it’s all done digitally. Up until now, I’ve been reading them on my phone. Let’s say this, trying to read a 100k book on your smartphone gets old… fast.

I also wanted an eReader because once I get around to formatting my books, I will need an eReader to check this formatting is all correct. I am lucky in that I like with another writer, @RhianBWatts, and between the two of us, we can have both a Kindle and a Kobo and therefore cover both .epub and .mobi files. – Yes, I do still need to tell her of this plan!

In the end, I decided on Kobo thanks to the absolutely wonderful Mark Leslie Lefebvre, who as well as being an incredibly talented author, is also works in author relations for Kobo. Meeting him at the London Book Fair, I was blown away by how enthusiastic he was, not only about the devices themselves, but in author relations with a multi-million dollar company. He was so kind and cheerful, spoke animatedly about the aspects kobo was releasing for authors and readers, and appreciated it when Rhian and I broke down giggling at his jokes. Not to mention that nobody showed up to the kindle stand in the authorlounge the entire three days. I was sold.

And looking at my new kobo device, I am still sold.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

