30 DBC: Day 11

Day 11 – A book you hated

jane-eyre

Well, it’s been a classic few days, including today’s book I hate, with Jane Eyre.

This is a personal taste thing, I do not deny the importance of Jane Eyre. However, sometimes I feel that the importance the book held when it was first released is mistranslated into it holding the same weight today, which it doesn’t for me.

The main importance people hold to Jane Eyre is the move forward in Feminism, and yes, it was vastly important at the time, but it is not as relevant as it was then in my opinion. After everything, Jane Eyre is still a love story with Jane running after Mr Rochester. Yes, Jane’s tenacity and independence was different for the day, but that’s not the same as it is in modern day, that is not a move for feminism.

Again, I am sure that many people will disagree with me, both on my dislike and on my opinion on the importance of the work, but opinions are opinions.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

