30 DBC: Day 16

Day 16 – Favorite female character

a_6cce6216

Kahlan Amnell

I was always somewhat fascinated with Kahlan while reading Terry Goodkind’s Legend of the Seeker series. I thought she was a very interesting and complex character. She has her down times, when I personally want to smack her around a bit, but she ultimately feels real to me. Her Confessor gift causes a lot of trouble, especially when it comes to her fear of actually being in a physical relationship with Richard, and despite being this powerful and influential woman, you can also see hints of insecurity and regret that stops her from being a cardboard cutout of a heroine.

I find it amusing that I used the tv show image of Kahlan to represent the character, because personally, I can’t stand the show. Admittedly, I only watched ten minutes of the first episode, but those ten minutes were enough to make me switch off in a hail of obscenities and spend the next half hour ranting about it to my dad (who also enjoys the books.) The fact that I spent three times as long ranting as I did watching speaks to just how little I liked the changes they made for the TV show. However, I think they cast Kahlan (at least appearance wise) very well.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

