30 DBC: Day 18

This is the actual one for today. I’m doing this while avoiding editing, because, as I will be putting up in a couple of days in far more eloquent language, editing is a scary and mind-messery business.

Day 18 – A book that disappointed you

straight-talking

Don’t get me wrong, I adore Jane Green. Her novel Bookends is one of my favourite chick-lit books, and Jemima J (while sometimes annoying me for cliched body image reaction issues) does speak to me on other levels. Mr. Maybe can have my curled up in my bed all day while I read it cover to cover. I own a lot of Jane Green books, including Straight Talking.

I can’t really put my finger on why Straight Talking disappointed me. It’s not the only one of Jane Green’s books that is told from a first person (which I sometimes don’t like.) In fact, most of them are. It’s not the only romance central book… again, most of them are, it’s chick-lit. There was just something that didn’t sit right with me about it.

I don’t hate the book, not even close, but there was something disappointing about it when I didn’t instantly love it the way I do many of her others. In the end, I guess the way I classify Straight Talking, is that if I have any other Jane Green book to pick up vs Straight Talking… it’ll be the other one.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

