30 DBC: Day 22

Day 22 – Favorite book you own

wool

Because these 30 days might get somewhat repetitive due to the number of ‘favourite books’ questions, not to mention that I own pretty much all of the books I have written about so far (I don’t own 50 Shades, for obvious reasons) I decided to go with a book that is currently resonating with me.

Further back in my blog, you may have seen my review of Hugh Howey’s Wool. I adored it. It is an amazing story full of mystery and intrigue, but even that is not why I chose Wool for today’s selection.

I chose Wool because of what it stands for, for me. Wool was originally a self-published book, and while 50 Shades also stands as one of those record breaking self-published gone traditionally published works, Hugh Howey, for me, is far more of a role model to emulate.

Hugh was smart. Instead of signing over everything to a publisher the moment he hit popularity, he kept his eBook rights. He managed his book professionally, and continues to put out stellar content. Hugh sold the print rights to his book, bringing a larger audience to a book which was already selling in the hundreds of thousands online. He reaped the benefits of traditional publishing without giving up his rights, and his control.

For me, Hugh Howey is an independent publisher to be watched, because, from his writing to his business sense for his brand, he has made wonderful decisions.

Not to even mention that my hardback copy of Wool looks absolutely wonderful, and I enjoyed every minute of reading it.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

