30 DBC: Day 27

Day 27 – The most surprising plot twist or ending

I’m not a big reader of crime novels, or suspense thrillers, so this one is a bit of an odd one for me. So, instead of the most surprising one, because the kinds of books I read don’t always go for the shock factor, I’m going to go for the funniest plot twist… which also allows me to talk about something I love, instead of pulling a book from a hat and slapping it up without much commentary.

the-importance-of-being-earnest1

You can see the twist coming. If watching the play, you can hear the bubble of nervous laughter ripple through the audience as they catch on to what it going to happen. But the plot twist is still incredibly amusing, especially if the parts are played well.

I used to be into theatre. I still am in a watching capacity, but here I mean acting. FAIS, my school when I was living in San Francisco, had a wonderful theatre program. We put on multiple productions a year in extra curricular activities, and our lessons were always interesting with engaging plays.

One of things that disappointed me the most was that when The Importance of Earnest was selected as one of the plays we were performing scenes from, I didn’t get one of them. I got another play in which I played a woman meeting with her lawyer because she’d murdered her husband. – An interesting play, and a very interesting scene… but it wasn’t Earnest!

I love reading Oscar Wilde, especially IOBE, because of his language. He has such beautifully crafted language, very British a lot of the time, which I love. He was an incredibly clever playwrite, to the point where you don’t need to see it performed to enjoy it.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

