30 DBC: Day 30

I didn’t do this yesterday like I should have done. Admittedly, my state was entirely self-inflicted, but that didn’t make it any easier to actually think, and today’s choice is a big one.

Day 30 – Your favorite book of all time

I’ve realised that the problem with this sort of challenge is that, if you’re like me, you look at the immediate question, not the question five, ten, thirty questions down the line. Therefore, you get some repetition. I’ve read a hell of a lot of books over the years, and I’ve loved a great deal of them. However, loving a book doesn’t automatically mean you’ll be able to recall it when faced with a specific question.

There is also the issue that there is a great deal of overlap. The story that made you change your opinion could also be your favourite romance book, or it could be the book you read last year. To keep these challenges interesting, you need to keep an element of originality to the answers. Therefore, not all answers are as true as they would have been if you felt comfortable giving the same answer multiple times.

Yes, I read a lot of books, but the ones that mean a lot to me are the ones that answer multiple questions in this challenge.

Then, you get the problem of, I don’t fit into boxes as easily as is required. I have many books I love, all for different reasons, and asking me to select my favourite is like asking me to pick a favourite child. (Perhaps slightly less daunting, but you see what I mean.)

 

In the end, I am going to be self-serving here. I am not going to select a book by someone else. If I loved the book enough to class it amongst my favourites, I would have already placed it somewhere in this list. I could easily tell you that Harry Potter is my favourite, because it got me into writing. But I could also say that My Sister’s Keeper is my favourite because it isn’t afraid to be honest about a situation, that not all characters have to be likeable, even if you understand their plight.

I would, however, like to give a shout out to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, because I don’t think there was a question which HG fitted ideally into more so that another book, and I did LOVE the Hunger Games.

 

Anyway, point being: Favourite book of all time:

Dead and Buryd

Yes, I did it. I named my first born as my favourite! The really funny thing is, I just looked at a pregnancy due date calculator. I started writing Dead and Buryd on 1st November 2012 for NaNoWriMo, and according to the due date calculator… my due date is Thursday, 25th July! – The reason I find this so funny is that the 25th is the date that D&B goes back to the editor for the second pass. Spooky huh? D&B has been in the pipeline a hell of a lot longer than 9 months, but from writing start date, I’m calling that conception. Like planning for a baby and then actually getting pregnant.

I know that as I continue writing, I will improve. Even my editor said in my report that he could see me learning as he read further into the book. There are less edits the further you get into the manuscript, and since going through the process of professional edits, I already know I have improved on some things, like keeping pacing up for dialogue and action. There will be many ways for me to grow and improve, but Dead and Buryd is the first, it is the first novel I have written that I have completed and felt confident in sending out into the world past friends and family.

I am proud of my baby, and whatever happens in my career, this is the one that started it.

 

Yes, I expect all my other children to be jealous and say “You don’t love me as much as you love DB.” I’ll just have to wait to have actual children before I have to try to be fair about it.

Anyone got any ideas about new daily blogging challenges I can do?

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

