Procrastination and Other Setbacks

November is NaNoWriMo, or as I prefer to call it: bring me coffee and then go the hell away month, or Insomnia’R’Us. Last year, I managed to write 21,000 words in the first three days alone. In other words, November and NaNoWriMo are great for a good kick in the ass to get you writing every day.

Unfortunately, this is also the month that the beast procrastination rears its ugly head and refuses to go away. No matter how many times you want to grab a big stick and pretend that you’re Gandalf.

shall-not-pass

Like Gremlins, where you’re not supposed to get them wet, or feed them after midnight, Procrastination is a beast that is fun and innocent at most times of the year, but then, the moment November 1st hits, becomes the most frustrating and dangerous creature imaginable.

gremlins

I had a few things to do on Saturday 2nd, and admittedly spent most of Sunday recovering from Saturday. So, apart from the 1st, in which I did get a hell of a lot done, I was not doing so well on my buffer until the 4th. Personally, I prefer to write as much as humanly possible within the first week or so, so that later in the month, when I’m feeling rubbish, I can slack off for a day or two.

Yes, I am still a way in front of the target, but I’ve spent the last few days ill, so no drive for me. Today, procrastination is back. I guess it’s just a case of wrestling it into a large steel cage… or getting someone to change my facebook, twitter, tumblr, and goodreads passwords until I’ve written something.

That’s a good idea, actually. Beginning of the month, you get your housemate to change your passwords. Then they can only let you online after your daily word count is completed. Probably very annoying, but slightly more productive.

On a slightly better note, Fight or Flight is going well. The planning has definitely helped again, and I’m currently writing chapter 10. Very happy, as long as I keep the Procrastination Gremlin calm.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

