Sci-Festival and Festive Science.

For me, Post-Christmas is usually a time for squeezing in that last bit of overindulgence before New Years resolutions. I eat the rest of my chocolate and sweets from Christmas, I slob around watching TV, and generally do very little.

This year has been slightly different, (though yes, I know I’ve still got 3 days to cram in some indulgence if I tried.) I contracted a rather nasty stomach bug, which reared its ugly (and admittedly painful) head at about 11pm on Christmas Eve. Safe to say, I didn’t sleep on Christmas Eve, and I didn’t eat a single thing until I was able to force down crackers at about 7pm Christmas day.

Why is this important, you ask? Well, seeing as I had, quite literally, been hollowed out of all food, and have not really had much of an appetite in the two days following, I’ve decided to start the new year early. That means, healthy food, taking up running (Yey Zombies! Run!) and organising my writing.

The next three days are my test run, so to speak. Probably not long enough to do an actual test of whether I can keep it up, but I thought, seeing as I have a clean slate, I might as well start now.

 

What will change with writing? Admittedly, not a lot when it comes to what people will see in the near future. Fight or Flight is on the way, but I want to get a head start on some other projects, even if they are projects that will never see the light of day. I have too many ideas floating around, and I need to get some of them out.

This also means more advertising and more social writing. So, with that in mind, I have created Sci-Festival.

Sci-Festival is a conglomeration of interviews. These will be posted on my site throughout January and each interview will be of the same 10 questions, put to as many Sci-Fi and Fantasy authors who would like to take part.

Through the kindness of these authors, I will also be hosting a number of giveaways throughout the month. Each giveaway will be for eBooks from a collection of authors, including NY Times best selling author Hugh Howey.

Hugh Howey, author of the Wool trilogy and the Molly Fyde saga, has agreed to take part. He will be answering the same questions (plus a few more specific to his books) and will also be accepting questions from fans and authors. Hugh’s interview will go up at the end of January, so if you have a question to submit to Hugh, please post a comment here.

If you would like to know more, or would like to take part in Sci-Festival, send me an email at chelecooke@gmail.com and I’ll be happy to get back to you.

 

Happy Festivities all, and I’ll see you in the New Year for the first of our interviews!

 

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Sci-Festival and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

