My Writing Process

A few weeks ago, I was invited to take part in the My Writing Process blog tour. From what I’ve seen online over the last few weeks, this tour has taken on a few different names, but the intention is always the same. It’s like Pay it Forward (I love that film) in that you are linked by someone, and you link on to three other people.

I’m going to let you down a little, in that I only have two authors to link you forward to today. However, I am going to try to make up for it by linking to a few authors not taking part in the blog tour, but who are fantastic just the same. (And I might convince one of them to take up the blog tour for next week.)

I would also like to give a shout back to Eliza Green, who linked me in to this tour. Eliza is a wonderfully talented Sci-Fi author who has two books of her Exilon 5 trilogy out. She’s been on my blog a few times before, and I’ll always keep telling people to check her out!

So, on to me I guess.

What am I working on?
I’m actually working on three projects at the moment, Fight or Flight, Le Cirque Navire, and Teeth. Fight or Flight is the sequel to my sci-fi novel Dead and Buryd. It follows a medic living on a conquered planet which is in the beginning of a full scale rebellion.

Le Cirque Navire is a Sci-Fi circus story. I like to think of it as Firefly meets Water for Elephants. There are some supernatural elements, a lot of Sci-Fi, and some throwbacks to 1920’s Chicago and the prohibition.

Teeth is the one not like the others. It’s a vampire story that I’m posting week by week on Wattpad. I’ve always wanted to write a vampire/paranormal story, and experimenting and letting readers go through it all for free is really exciting.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?
I’ve been told that my stories are more character driven than some Sci-Fi. While bigger elements are often at play, I tend to focus on the smaller parts that really drive the characters forward. I also like to look at the characters who are not always the centre of the action. My main characters are rarely the ones who the bigger plot revolves around. They influence the large plot, sometimes in huge ways, but they are never the main instigator. Imagine Harry Potter told from Ron’s point of view.

It’s funny, actually. The first time I pitched Dead and Buryd, the first response was “Well, why don’t you make it her lover who has been captured.” – It immediately let me know that the agent in question wasn’t for me. I didn’t want my character to be a special, chosen one. I wanted her in it because she chose to be, because that’s who she is.

Why do I write what I do?
Passion. Isn’t that why people writes anything? I love everything about the stories, from the characters to the little bits going on behind the scenes you never see. I love creating a world and showing it to other people.

As for Sci-Fi and Fantasy in general, I write these because I find the different aspects really enjoyable. I love that I can create objects and places that never existed before, bringing them to life.

How does my writing process work?
I generally plan quite a lot. The plan will undoubtedly change quite drastically by the time I get to a finished product, but I like having a skeleton to build on. My plans are detailed, and long, most of the time. After that, I’ll write the first draft pretty quickly. I don’t really care about grammar, or if something doesn’t look right. If I start focusing on those things, I end up going over it indefinitely.

Once the first draft is done, I go through and edit. This will usually involve rewrites first and then line edits. Having used a professional editor before, I think I’ve really improved on my editing, and catching things I wouldn’t have before, so I’m really grateful for that.

Then, it’s just editing over and over until I’m happy with it. Watching it take shape is really exciting for me.

 

So, now you’ve heard from me, I’m going to point you off to some other people, who will be posting their Writing Process on February 24th! Now you have a reason to love Mondays! (If you didn’t have one already.)

I love these ladies. They’re both insanely talented, and you should definitely follow their careers, because I know they’re on the up!

Laila Blake
Laila Blake (lailablake.com) is an author, linguist and translator. She writes character-driven love stories, co-hosts the podcast Lilt and blogs about writing, feminism and society. Her body of work encompasses literary erotica, romance, and various fields in speculative fiction (dystopian/post-apocalypse, fantasy, paranormal romance and urban fantasy) and she adores finding ways to mix and match. Her work has also been featured in numerous anthologies.

Natalie Wright
Natalie is the author of The Akasha Chronicles, a young adult paranormal fantasy trilogy. When not writing, blogging, Facebooking, Tweeting, Wattpadding or eating chocolate, Natalie nurtures her young daughter, plays with her two young cats, and feeds her dog too many treats.
Natalie enjoys walking in the high desert, snorkeling in warm waters, travel, and excellent food shared with family and friends. She was raised an Ohio farm girl, now lives in the desert Southwest, and dreams of living in a big city high rise.

 

So, for my third, because I am awful, and missed one… I would like to point my readers towards the following authors:
Chris Brosnahan, Rhian Watts, and Richard Kellum

All three of these authors write in Sci-Fi and Fantasy, with some other elements on the side. They don’t all have work out yet, but keep an eye on them!

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Writing Process

  1. Great post, Chele. Afraid it was me who fingered Eliza, but she’s such an interesting writer, too! And don’t feel bad about only having two nominees. My friend Liz Harris who ‘volunteered’ me, only chose two. 😉

  2. Pingback: My Writing Process | Laila Blake

Leave a Reply

