Sales, Sequels, and Self-Publishing

It’s been quite a while since I last did a blog post. This is due to a number of reasons that I won’t bore you with. The main reason, however, is that I’ve been very busy writing, editing, and setting up for the release of the second Out of Orbit book, Fight or Flight.

Not only that, but both Fight or Flight, and Dead and Buryd are getting new covers! Of course Fight or Flight’s will be new, but Dead and Buryd is getting a revamp, and I have some or the wonderful original artwork to share within the next week.

For now, here is a little teaser.

Web Size 72dpi

Because Fight or Flight is coming near to completion, I decided to reduce the price of Dead and Buryd. It can now be found on all outlets at .99p/.99c. I used eBookSoda to promote this offer, and I’ve seen some more sales in the last few days, so hurrah!

Another reason I have been particularly busy these last few weeks, is because I started work on a new project. I am taking my time with this one, as Fight or Flight needs the priority, but I am incredibly excited about where it’s going. It’s a circus based Sci-Fi I lovingly call CirquePunk. It’s gritty, it’s dark, it’s got supernatural elements, and I absolutely love it. Once Fight of Flight has gone to the editor, it will be full steam ahead on Le Cirque Navire, hoping to get the first draft done in 80 days. (But that’s another blog post)

I had a pitch event with an agent at the beginning of March. Excerpts of the work were sent in advance along with a synopsis, and then you had ten minutes with the agent to discuss the piece. My pitch went very well. The agent in question loved the idea for Le Cirque Navire, and was taken in by the excerpt I had provided. Unlike with a submission, because this was an event, submitting unfinished works was completely acceptable. Having the feedback would help with the shaping of the book, so it really was the perfect time for me to get some professional advice. They loved the book, and want the rest of it when it’s finished, which is thrilling.

At one point in the pitch, while talking about my history as a writer, I pointed out Dead and Buryd, which happened to be sitting on the bookshop shelf nearby. She asked me why I chose to self-publish.

This is not a strange question. It is not even an unexpected question. So, I explained. I chose to self-publish because I realised that I could put out a professional product and sell it to readers. I did not have to wait until publishers told me the market was right for my novel. Instead, I decided to go out there and find the market myself.

I chose to self-publish because I wanted to share my writing. I wanted to start connecting with readers and other authors, something I have done, and it’s been wonderful, exciting, challenging, and completely worth it.

You may ask, why I even bothered with this pitch event? Why am I excited that this agent wants the rest of my book as soon as it’s finished? No matter what anyone thinks, this is not because I’m self-publishing until something better comes along. How Le Cirque Navire ends up being published will not change that Out of Orbit will continue to be self-published, and there will probably be other stories I decide to release this way.

For me, there is no choosing a side when it comes to publishing. This isn’t a game with teams where one side will win. This is a never-ending marathon, and you choose the people who help you keep going, who make you run faster. Those people might be different for the flats than they are for the hills, just like the way you publish one book might be completely different from the way you publish another. Sometimes you need a running buddy who will give you the tough love, and sometimes you are happiest in running alone with your thoughts.

That is why I am excited, because I think these agents could be great running buddies for Le Cirque Navire and some of my other works. If they’re happy to run alongside me, I’ll happily be a hybrid.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Dead and Buryd, Fight or Flight, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sales, Sequels, and Self-Publishing

  1. mgm75 says:

    This isn’t a game with teams where one side will win.

    That’s a great way of looking at it. Unfortunately, the media are presenting it as black and white… there’s proper publishing for proper writers and then there’s self-publishing for those of us who simply aren’t good enough!

    As a reviewer of indie-published work, I have read some poorly written stuff but I have also read some that is truly superb. Both mediums are here to stay and that can only be a good thing.

    • chelecooke says:

      You’re absolutely right, and there will probably always be those who view it that way, which is disappointing. However, those who do view it as black and white are nothing compared to the millions of readers who simply want a good story. The more great stories self-publishing produces, the less the argument of ‘proper publishing’ will have an impact on readers.

      It is disappointing that there has been a flood of work that might not reach the standards readers would expect and want, but as you said, there is also superb stories, provided in a professional manner, which is awesome.

      Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. It’s great to hear from people reviewing indie work.

Leave a Reply

