8 Days Later. No, not the Zombie Apocalypse

Fight or Flight has been out for 8 days and things are going well. I like to call it ‘ticking over’ though, the downloads for the free copies of Dead and Buryd have been anything but ticking. Thanks to some help from great promotional websites, I’ve had over 2,000 downloads, at one point launching me up into 3 number 1 spots. Exciting!

Everything, however, ends tomorrow. All the giveaways and free books, so make sure you download your copy of Dead and Buryd now (if you haven’t already,) and tell your friends. Also, make sure you’re entered into the Fight or Flight Goodreads giveaway, and Rafflecopter giveaway!

Everything else is a bit manic, in all honesty. I’m editing through the first 20 chapters of ‘Teeth’ so that everything is set up for the final five chapters. I’m writing Le Cirque Navire, and tomorrow, I’m going to Nine Worlds to take part in the New Voices panel, in which I’ll be reading from Fight or Flight.

One of the most difficult parts of this week has been trying to pick which bit to read. I’ve still not decided. I have a feeling tonight will be a late one as I practice over and over. My housemates may be able to quote me word for word by the end. (I will buy them chocolate to make up for it.)

And just to leave you with something new and unseen, to close off the Take Flight Blog Tour… here is one last character interview!

TakeFlightBanner

So, Dhiren Flynn, why don’t you tell us a little bit about yourself? Seeing as we haven’t seen much of you yet.
What exactly is it you’d like to know? Would you like to know how I spend my days? That’s easy, seeing as I have a four wall cage known as Lyndbury. Was born: as all are, grew up: as the lucky do, ended up in prison: as the unlucky do. Not much else needs knowing.

Well, how about the topic very few people know about, but all prisoners are interested in… what did you do to get thrown in Lyndbury?
You know, they have stories about that. Some of them are funny, if not a bit ridiculous. Seriously… who would try to murder the Volsonnar with rocks in a bag?

Truth is, the reason I was thrown into this pit was because the one who was meant to be looking out for me decided it was better if I was kept in one place. No other reason.

Was that often a problem for you? Staying in one place?
I never really fit into that tribe life like a lot of the others. Preferred travelling alone. When the Adveni came, I didn’t see any reason to change that, so I kept right on travelling, getting trade where I could. Some might call it lonely, but I like the quiet. Don’t get a lot of quiet in prison.

People seem to think you’re cruel, but we see some nice moments from you. What do you think of the way people view you?
Better they view me as cruel. Ta-Dao and Vajra, colossal vtensu that they are, wouldn’t have a use for me if no one was scared. Plus, the more terrified they are, the more they leave me alone, and as I said… I like the quiet.

If you could name one regret, what would it be?
Getting caught, obviously. But then, not really much I can do about it. Regrets are interesting and ultimately, rather pointless things unless you can change them. Until then, you’re just torturing yourself with pain you can’t heal. I’d rather save the pain for someone else, thanks.

Thanks Dhiren, for… not actually telling us much of anything.

 

See more of Dhiren, and lots of other characters, by picking up a copy of Fight or Flight.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LZTQV30
Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/fight-or-flight-8
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/456775
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21545342-fight-or-flight

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Fight or Flight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

