Multiple Projects means Many Headaches

There is something funny about the evolution of ideas for creatively minded people. The more you work: the more ideas you have. It’s a momentum thing. Once you gather speed, it’s easier to simply keep going than it is to stop. Not to mention that the faster you go, the more bugs/ideas hit your windshield.

NaNoWriMo is fantastic for momentum. If you can get yourself into that regular rhythm, it becomes that much easier to just keep going.

Of course, the more you write, the more ideas you have, new and shiny ideas just begging to be written and played with. So, you might try to jot down ideas and keep it in the planning stages, but before you know it it’s three in the morning and you’ve written half a chapter.

stressed

By that point, you have momentum on that too, and so it’s better to keep going. Before you know it there are three different novels on the go, and you’re still gathering ideas faster than you can file them away.

Tangled

This is, in part, what has happened to me. I’ve gotten better as not starting new projects, but the more I’ve written, the more the ideas have come to the point where I now have a dozen stories either in the process, or waiting to be written.

The problem with this, and admittedly it’s often a nice problem to have, is that I have to constantly prioritise what I’m working on. I might be on a great run in writing book 3 of Out of Orbit, but with Teeth coming up for release, I have to put the easiest project aside to work on the one that is coming up first.

Admittedly, this blog post is mostly just me rambling.

However, I have decided that Teeth will be released in the new year. Mostly, this is to give me a little breathing room, not only because I have other projects I’m working on in writing, but also because I suddenly find myself with quite a few knitting orders for Christmas.

So, the long and short of it: Teeth will be released on 8th January 2015.

It’s already available on Goodreads to be added to people’s reading lists, and will be going up for pre-order within the next week.

Have a nice week all, and I’ll be back with Writing Environment #3: Motivation!

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Self-Publishing Journey, Teeth, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

