15 Things for 2015

Yes, that’s right, it’s another New Years resolutions, what we hope for 2015, post.

If you’re already sick to the teeth of them, don’t worry, another week and I’m sure most of us will have forgotten we even made the resolutions, let alone kept to them. Unfortunately, that’s usually me. The end of year stock taking can often be an invigorating experience and a week after it happens, I’m back to thinking ‘why did I ever think I could do this?’

So, here I am, telling you all the things I’m going to do this year. I hope that by doing this, I will be accountable not only to myself, but to you all. Perhaps not wanting to let you wonderful people down, if nothing else, will help push me through.

Therefore, I have decided on 15 things I would like to accomplish by the end of 2015. I like the symmetry. I’ve also split this into three topics. Writing, Business, and Social.

Writing

1. Publish book 3 of the Out of Orbit series.
Yep, it’s in the works, and goddamnit I will get it on the market.

2. Finish and publish 3 Out of Orbit short stories.
‘Coyote’ is already in its first draft, and I also have ‘Body of Art’ and a currently untitled short in the planning stages.

3. Either self-publish or have Le Cirque Navire with an agent and/or publisher.
I’m about 20,000 words from finishing LCN, but seeing as I’ve written 15k in two days on this story this week already, I think it’ll be finished within a few days. I’ve promised an agent the first look at this manuscript, and where I go with it from there will depend on whether they wish to take it up.

4. Write and publish ‘Meat’, the second book in the Teeth series.
As these are shorter books, I’d like to keep up a relatively quick turnaround with them, so I plan on having ‘Meat’ ready by Autumn.

5. Finish my portion of ‘Ridgers’.
WIP Title ‘Ridgers’ is a dystopian collaboration being written with Moa Johansson. We’re both rather busy at the moment, but I’d like for this to keep moving forwards as I absolutely adore working with her.

Business

6. Do more public speaking.
Speaking at events is a great way to get your name out there and to meet some wonderful people. I’d really like to take this further as the year progresses.

7. Have 5 new unattached stories ready to go.
One of the big things with any business is knowing what your next step is. This will hopefully be my full time career one day, and as such, I need to treat it that way, not only focusing on what I’m doing now, but also what will come next. So, that means 5 new novel ideas, not attached to a current series, that can wait in the wings for when I’m ready for them.

8. Set aside time five days a week to ‘work’ and get into a rhythm.
I want to ensure I’m hitting 10,000 words a week, not to mention editing, formatting, and other publishing jobs. If I want this to be my career, I have to treat it as such, meaning set times when I am officially ‘at work’.

9. Take advantage of some more of the opportunities the market has to offer.
Whether that means I set up to release an audiobook, I do a trial run on Pubslush, or I begin releasing merchandising, I understand that eBooks and print novels are not my only product. I want to start expanding within the market.

10. Organise myself as any other professional would.
This, I think, will probably be the most difficult on the list because, even though some of my other points involve writing entire novels, this has the most work. It means organising everything from my publishing schedule to my finances. Yes, writing is my passion and hopefully one day my full time career, but it is not my entire life. I need to separate publishing from my personal life and approach this as any other professional would.

Social

11. Sort out my mailing list, facebook likes, twitter followers, etc. 
I’ve been largely lagging on this and it’s time that wasn’t the case. I know all the theories and now I need to take the time to put them into practice.

12. Podcast.
I’m not entirely sure whether this means me setting up a podcast, or me seeking out podcasts to guest on, but either way, I’d like to give it a try.

13. Proper promotional blog tours.
I’ve largely ambled my way through this up to now and no more. I already have a blog tour lined up for Teeth, working with a publicist, and from there I can see what works for me to ensure all my blog tours are well worth following and getting me the right exposure.

14. Post an informative post once a fortnight on my blog.
I’ll also be posting updates, release information, etc. But I want to ensure I’m building a informational hub with my experiences in self-publishing, writing, etc. Therefore, I’m going to be releasing an informative post once a fortnight.

15. Do more on Goodreads and Wattpad.
I would like to have a better connection with the people I’m friends with on Wattpad and Goodreads. So, reading a lot more, reviewing other stuff, etc. There are some truly wonderful people out there, and I want to get to know them better.

 

And that’s me. Admittedly, I have some personal goals for 2015, but as none of you probably want to hear about me falling over on treadmills and how cranky I am without chocolate, I’ll leave that alone.

All the best for 2015 to everyone reading.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Self-Publishing Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

