New Month, New Meltdown

As you may have noticed, I’ve been rather quiet for the last month. This is not only due to the fact I’ve had very little to say of late, but also because I’ve been trying to organise my non-writing life. I’ve taken up Step class twice a week, I’m trying to eat more healthily, and I’m attempting to de-clutter. This doesn’t even include my full time job, family commitments, and a crafty project that has a very specific deadline.

The thing is, I know that this isn’t going to change any time soon (apart from the craft project deadline will pass.) However, I think I’m finally settling into things a little more and I can get back up to speed with my writing. Truth be told, I definitely needed a bit of a break. Now, I’m feeling more energised and ready to dive back into those drafts.

April is going to be a busy month despite being on holiday from my 9-5 job for almost three weeks. I have a trip back to Warwickshire planned for some family time, a wedding to attend, London Book Fair, and the Indie Author Fair at Foyles on the 17th.

Oh, yeah, and I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo, trying to get another 50,000 words.

All in all, I think there may be some tears before the end.

 

So, you may ask why the hell I’m writing about all this instead of taking this time to tick something off my list. On Sunday after a trip to GoApe (definitely recommend that if you’re in the UK) I was with my housemates and we were discussing a website called 16personalities.com If you’ve never heard of this, it’s a personality quiz, but unlike those ‘pick your favourite colour, pick your favourite food’, type quizzes, this one is scarily accurate and gave me an interesting insight into my life.

Not only did my listed personality (INFP – Mediator) tell me that one of the perfect careers for me is as an Author, but it also highlighted some of the difficulties I’ve had with certain aspects of my life. One of these: follow through. I like organising and planning, but actually following through on the targets I set myself is difficult when new ideas come along.

People who know me well might also be surprised that one of the aspects of my personality is that of an introvert. When around people I am comfortable with, I am often loud and excitable, and so people assume that I’m not shy. However, the truth is that being sociable takes a hell of a lot of energy for me (even with people I have known a while) and I find it very difficult around new people. Going out, especially when new people are involved, is draining and I often need a long time to myself to recharge.

So, I’m writing this post, in a lot of ways, more for myself than anything. I want to make an effort to deal with the parts of my personality that make following through on these things difficult for me. By doing this in a way I am more comfortable with (online interaction) I can work on driving my energy to my work.

Very rambling, I know, but hopefully it’ll help as I move forwards.

 

If you’ve not checked out 16personalities.com I definitely recommend it. It can be very interesting to look at the aspects of your personality and how it affects your life.

About chelecooke

Self-Published author of the Out of Orbit series and the Teeth series. UCL Residence Assistant, obsessive cross stitcher, avid reader and TV show watcher.
This entry was posted in Self-Publishing Journey, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

